T5, ANM230 – WEEK 5

Main Project:

Now that we’ve finalized most parts of our group project (some parts were still being tweaked over the last few weeks), I’ve finished off my Cultural Analysis. I’ve also put together an online, in-depth gantt chart for the project on Smartsheet now that we have defined parts of our project and thus a better scope of the roles we need to fill to complete the project. This also helps since Asana doesn’t give a visual display of when tasks are due compared to each other, and only has end dates for tasks.

I’ve begun work on one of the 2D backgrounds seen where the elderly man looks out of the train window at the powerlines. I’ve made the shot a little wider than what was in the rough storyboard so that we had a little freedom to move the camera in the shot around if needed. I’ve been looking into the photo references Mitch put up on the drive as well as The Illusionist (2010) backgrounds that everyone liked the style of back when we put forth concept art for the backgrounds.

 

Independent Research Project:

I’ve been a little behind on working on my independent research project, but we’ve been looking into tracking live action shots in Nuke in class recently, so at least I’m still getting some good information, skills and techniques that I’ll need for the project. I don’t think I’ll need any tracking for my still shots, however my moving shot will require 3D tracking.

shots.jpg

I’ve drawn up a storyboard for my sequence, although I might shoot some different angles for my second shot when I’m filming. I’m also unsure as to whether I’ll be able to shoot clearly from inside the fridge considering fridges aren’t very deep. I want to film using a university camera, however, if I can’t fit a camera in the fridge properly I could try using a phone’s camera instead.

From here I’ll need to film my shots and collect video reference for Nyles soon too. I should probably throw together a model sheet for Nyles too, although he does have a pretty simple design.

T5, ANM230 – WEEK 5

Leave a comment